2013-14 Academic Catalog

Social Sororities and Fraternities

This is an archived copy of the 2013-14 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit http://catalog.msstate.edu.


Eighteen national social fraternities have established chapters at the University; thirteen have chapter houses on the campus. Self-governance of the fraternities is provided by the Interfraternity Council, composed of the president and one delegate from each of the national fraternities.

Thirteen national women’s social sororities have established chapters at Mississippi State University; seven have built chapter houses on the campus. Panhellenic Council is the self-governing body for sororities and is composed of two delegates from each sorority.

Included among the 31 Greek organizations at MSU are eight of the nine historically African-American chapters. These organizations belong nationally to the National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) and make policies and coordinate their activities through the NPHC Undergraduate Council, their self-governance body.

The offices of IFC, NPHC, and the Panhellenic Council and their advisors are located in the Office of Fraternity & Sorority Life in 300 Colvard Student Union (662-325-3917).